Ice Creamed Sundays

Once in a while something tiny and perfect comes along and a whole world gets created around it. In this case it was a whole sweater and the tiny epic item was a button. Correction: collection of buttons. I first found this pattern in a baby knitting magazine in the 1980’s. It looked so simple. It was not. Somehow I forgot just how complicated it was and eagerly started the “Ice Cream Sweater” of the four colors from Neopolitian Ice Cream. The fancy stitch pattern looks deceptively easy. It drove me crazy for the entire project. But what kept me going was not the sometimes insane drive to Finish a Project but the perfect buttons I found. 

This precious little baby sweater took me longer than it would to make an adult sized hoodie. I was in fear of the baby going to kindergarten before I finished it and trust me when I say I took breaks to work on other projects just so I could finish something, anything. But persevere I did and you will have to be the judge of whether four months is too long to make a 6 month size sweater. Maybe you could think about it over ice cream…on Sunday. 
ice cream cone buttonssweater

About Olivia

Knitting, travel, sailing, and writing
This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

