Boat Socks

woman and dog on boatIt took me nearly a month to finish but the deed is done and my first pair of socks are complete. But why “Boat Socks”? I suppose it’s because we got a boat  (a sweet little 18.5 ft Seaswirl center console that has a tendency to splash water on me as we zoom over the waves) and if I wanted to finish the socks at all I was going to have to bring them with me. So in all the “No Wake Zones” I whipped out my socks and kept knitting, much to the amusement of passing boaters. As soon as we could get up to speed, I put away the socks and held on for dear life. We live on Cape Cod and there are plenty of opportunities to explore inlets and bays so eventually the socks got done. I must admit that for my first pair I should have chosen a simpler pattern but smocked stitches, ribbed gussets, tricky transitions and all, here they are. Don’t look too closely, there are some errors that there was no way I was going to dig down and fix. Since I’m keeping these for myself, indeed they are on me right now, I figured it didn’t matter. So with pride I present them to you and thank all my knitting friends online for inspiring me to try socks. I am truely addicted.

knit socks
sunset

About Olivia

Knitting, travel, sailing, and writing
This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Boat Socks

  1. Laura says:

    Hurray for your first socks!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Olivia says:

    Thank you! It was quite a project. Already starting on second pair: Hermoine’s Everyday Socks. A little easier, lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow! I love the colors you used. Nice!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. GouramiGirl says:

    I like the stripes in them. They work with the pattern!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

