The Cat in the Hat

Striped hat“Look at me! Look at me! Look at me NOW!  It is fun to have fun, but you have to know how.”  ― Dr. Seuss, The Cat in the Hat

This is precisely what I was thinking when I stumbled across this pattern from Stana D. Sortor from Stana’s Critters. What a fun Christmas present for my son-in-law to play with my baby granddaughter. She loves to play and sing and laugh and this great hat is as tall as a giraffe! It’s exactly one foot tall. I am stuffing the tip top with light fluff and sewing in some criss-cross strands of yarn to hold it in place. To keep the top flat I’ll insert a paper plate first since this hat is probably not going to see the wash.

So even though she’s so very small, I’m sure my granddaughter and her dad will have a ball, and play just like Thing one and Thing two. It was easy, peasy and incredibly fun to knit. The cat in the hat knows exactly what he is talking about! And yes, the iconic book will accompany this present of fun.

“You find magic wherever you look. Sit back and relax. All you need is a book” ― Dr. Seuss, The Cat in the Hat

Knitted top hat

About Olivia

Knitting, travel, sailing, and writing
This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Cat in the Hat

  1. madgeface says:

    This is great! My husband made a lot of green eggs and ham when our boys were small; I wish I’d been more of a knitter then – he would’ve loved this!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh so much fun!!! Lucky cat that gets this beauty.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That’s a perfect hat! 🙂 I love Dr. Seuss – I used to read his books to my kids all the time when they were younger. And my mom read them to me when I was little. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

